New Music: Sun Kil Moon – “Australian Winter”

Hi, Everyone!  I’m back from my rather unexpected exile (long story) with some great news for fans of Mark Kozelek and Sun Kil Moon.  Late last month, Caldo Verde announced the impending, July 13th release of Admiral Fell Promises, a new album from Sun Kil Moon.  The new album of original material is acoustic – featuring just Kozelek and a nylon-string guitar. Yep, those are definitely chills I’m feeling…

The CD version will be ten songs, and the vinyl will have two extra tracks recorded in France.  Also, “all direct purchases through the Caldo Verde website will receive a free, limited 4 song Sun Kil Moon EP entitled I’ll Be There. The EP includes covers of Stereolab, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, and The Jackson 5.”  This EP is limited to 1,500 copies.

Follow me for a listen of the excellent new song “Australian Winter,” and some tour notes:

Here’s “Australian Winter:”

[audio:|titles=Sun Kil Moon – Australian Winter]  Download

Here’s the full tracklist for the album and EP:

Admiral Fell Promises
1. Ålesund
2. Half Moon Bay
3. Sam Wong Hotel
4. Third and Seneca
5. You Are My Sun
6. Admiral Fell Promises
7. The Leaning Tree
8. Australian Winter
9. Church of the Pines
10. Bay of Skulls
I’ll Be There (limited edition EP)
1. Third And Senece (alt version)
2. Tomorrow Is Already Here
3. Natural Light
4. I’ll Be There

You can catch Kozelek on tour this Summer:

07/26 – Brooklyn, NY @ The Music Hall of Williamsburg
07/29 – London, UK @Union Chapel
07/31 – Giske, Norway @ Sommerfesten

And just because I love it, here’s a live version of Red House Painters’ “Have You Forgotten:”‘

Leave a Reply